South Carolina law requires that all parties involved in a car accident have to stop and notify
local law enforcement. Failing to stop at a car accident scene can result in criminal charges. The
most common reason why drivers do not stop at an accident scene is because they don’t have
South Carolina law requires all drivers to carry $25,000 in bodily injury coverage and $25,000 in
property damage. If you sustained injuries and suffered property damage in a hit-and-run
accident it is to your benefit to seek legal help.
Hit-and-Run Laws in South Carolina
In all cases where a vehicle strikes a person or property, the liable party is the one legally
required to stop and notify the police. The state of South Carolina requires that drivers who strike
a fixture on the highway have to notify the owner.
Drivers are also required to stop if they hit a vehicle that has no one inside. South Carolina Code
56-5-1240 requires that drivers inform the owner if they have hit their unattended vehicle. If the
driver cannot find the car’s owner, they should leave a note on the vehicle with their respective
South Carolina Code 56-5-1220 requires that a driver stops if they hit an attended vehicle.
However, the driver can leave to report the accident to law enforcement. The driver is also
required to stop if they hit a pedestrian in any circumstance.
Penalties for Committing A Hit-and-Run in South Carolina
The penalties that are imposed on the liable party in a hit-and-run accident will depend
specifically on the severity of injuries sustained, the cost of the property damage, previous
history of hit-and-run accidents on record, if the injured party succumbs to their injuries, and
lastly the cause of the accident such as if it’s caused by drunk driving or distracted driving.
The penalty for the liable party who causes injury in a hit-and-run accident will most likely face
possible misdemeanor charges. The court could sentence the liable party to jail for a period
ranging anywhere from 30 days to 12 months. The court could also impose a fine that ranges
between $100 to $5,000 on the liable party.
Any hit-and-run accident that results in catastrophic injuries could face a penalty of 30 days to 10
years in jail. The liable party could receive a fine between $5,000 to $10,000. When or if a
hit-and-run accident causes death, the liable party could face anywhere between 1 year to 35
years in jail. The court could also fine the liable party between $10,000 to $20,000.
What to do After a Hit-and-Run Accident
Hit-and-run accidents can leave you feeling angry and confused at the liable party. A few things
you should do if the liable party flees the scene is seek medical attention, try to get the license
plate number of the vehicle, contact a law firm, try to get contact details of any witnesses, report
the accident to local law enforcement, and no matter what do not chase the party fleeing the
A very important thing to remember is that you could still get compensated if the liable party
flees the accident scene. The steps provided above will help prove that the damages suffered, or
injuries sustained were due to the accident.
The first action after an accident should be seeking medical attention as you could have injuries
you are unaware of. Talking with a Charleston hit-and-run attorney is essential in making any
personal injury claim after a hit-and-run accident. With that being said, they will conduct further
investigation into the case. A Charleston hit-and-run attorney can help aid the investigation to
potentially help find the liable party.
Insurance Coverage for a Hit-and-Run Accident
In some cases, the liable party in a hit-and-run accident gets arrested. If this were to happen, you
can then file an injury claim with the liable party’s insurer. It should compensate you for injuries
and any other damages.
If the liable party is not arrested, then your own insurer may meet the expenses incurred. The
insurance policy you have will determine the damages you can recover if there are any. If you do
have collision coverage, it can help or completely cover all repairs needed if the liable party is
If you are a driver with no insurance coverage it can compensate you if the liable party is
uninsured. You could also have the option to file a lawsuit against the liable party if they are
Legal Assistance After a Hit-and-Run in South Carolina
If a driver hits your vehicle and flees the scene, you are not out of options for possible
compensation. Contacting a hit-and-run attorney at the Trey Harrell Auto Accident and Personal Injury Attorney who
understands that hit-and-run accidents can be very confusing and scary. Our office can help get
you in the right direction. Our team will work hard to get you the compensation you deserve.
Contact Trey Harrell Auto Accident and Personal Injury Attorney at 843.636.TREY for a legal consultation today.
Contacting car accident attorney Trey Harrell is FREE. Getting advice from attorney Trey
Harrell about your car accident claim is FREE. Further, you don’t pay attorney Trey Harrell for
representing you in a car accident unless the Trey Harrell Auto Accident and Personal Injury Attorney wins your case. There is
almost no reason not to at least call 843.636.TREY and ask a question.
An experienced personal injury attorney at Trey Harrell Auto Accident and Personal Injury Attorney that can determine
exactly who is responsible for your injuries, who understands exactly how to find the proper
insurance coverage and who knows how to fight to get you the compensation you deserve for
your case. Schedule your free consultation with our award-winning local attorney today by
calling 843.636.TREY or filling out our online survey.
Disclaimer: Information in this blog is intended for informative purposes only and not legal
advice. Please consult with a licensed attorney before you make any decisions on legal matters.
Further, viewing of this information does not create an attorney-client relationship with the Trey
Harrell Law Office, LLC. Matters will be handled by an attorney who primarily practice out of
our office in Charleston County located at 2000 Sam Rittenberg Blvd. Charleston, SC 29407.
Robert W. “Trey” Harrell, III is the attorney responsible for this posting.